Tags

, , ,

Up until about 6 years ago, I hated Valentine’s Day.  Hated it with every ounce of the word hate.  That’s a lot of hate.  Why?  Because everyone else that I new (female) got something special or nice on this damn God forsaken day except me.  It wasn’t because I wasn’t dating someone over this “holiday”, it’s because they were all f’n a-holes that didn’t have the slightest clue how to treat a woman.

My husband was turned on to this early on in our relationship.  Our first Valentine’s Day was nice.  It was the first time I’ve actually enjoyed the day.  He has done his best to make sure I don’t have any more bad Valentine’s Day’s.  And I appreciate it!   This year he treated me to a very nice, private lunch at a nice restaurant in town.  It’s rare for us to get away together during the week at night so we took the lunch hour to do it.  It was fantastic!  Another happy v day in the books for us.

We have a young daughter.  Every year on this day, I think about days gone by for myself and cringe when I think of my daughter having to go through the process of weeding out the moron guys in her life just to find the perfect one.  I hate the thought of possibility that some jerk in her life might make her hate this “day of love” as much as I do.  I don’t want her to feel “unloved” because the guy she is dating doesn’t know that he needs to make his girl feel special and loved on this day. (And, no, not just this day, but everyday… yeah, yeah, yeah…. you know what I mean!)  So I’ve made it my mission to make sure she doesn’t ever feel this way.   How?  A real man doesn’t let his girl feel this way….  this includes father’s and daughter’s.  Every year she will get something to make her feel loved, make her feel special.  And it might not be the same as her “crush” giving her flowers & chocolate.  She will never be left empty handed on this day.  She will ALWAYS get something to make her feel special.  Why?

Yesterday her Daddy showed up at school, unexpected and unannounced, balloon & bear in hand and made her the happiest little girl in that entire school.

While I can’t protect her from every a-hole that walks into her life, I can make sure she’s not sitting alone & feeling empty on this day.  He will forever be the only man in her life that will never let her down and I can count on that.

