Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

The husband has decided we need to reach out to a whole new class of people for his career.  I’m pretty involved in what he does so his decision in doing this heavily involves me.  And I’m OK with this. However…. I have my work cut out for me.  We are well off but don’t even come close to touching the amount of money these potential clients have.  To say I’m a bit intimidated by this is an understatement.  For me it’s like Ellie May headed to Beverly Hills!!!  Neither one of us is from a well off family but have found our way around some successful people and I think blend in quite well.  

Our first task is to start attending these social gala’s for fundraising events.  If someone told me the amount of money I’d have to pay for dinner and a chance to meet some of these highly successful people a year ago, I’d tell them to take a hike.  Who do these people think they are and why do I even want to associate with them?  Well, the answer is, it’s because they have the money and therefore they hold the keys to opening our next door.  If the husband wants to move further ahead, this is what he needs to do. Of course he could continue doing what he’s doing now because he’s been very successful at it.  But we decided we are too young to coast just yet.  We have the power to do more and so we are going to give it a go.  

I haven’t the slightest clue as to proper fundraiser etiquette.  I’m pretty sure we can’t even afford to purchase the tickets for the drawings!!  I’m not talking about autographed sports paraphernalia, I’m talking about African Safari’s and Wine Country Tours…..  So what are we supposed to do?  We know some other people attending so it’s not like we’ll be standing in the corner by ourselves.  I’m hoping to make at least one connection so we can call it a success.  More so, I’m hoping that I don’t completely embarrass myself and blend in with the crowd!!

Now what to wear and how the hell am I going to do my hair?  

