Tags

, , , , , ,

I went out with some old high school friends today.  I’m once again reminded that I’m right where I need to be.  It’s sort of bittersweet because I do enjoy spending time with these girls.  It just seems that we’ve gone in such separate directions that it’s almost impossible to reconnect.  They are all still stuck in that same, damn, small town and I’m not.  I have no intention of going back and they have no intention of leaving.  I almost wonder what the hell the point of trying to stay connected is.  I enjoy their company and it’s nice to catch up but I have no idea who the people are that they talk about.  I have no interest in going to half of the places they want to go to hang out. I feel like an elitist when I don’t think of myself that way at all.   I’m not trying to put that perception out there but I know that’s what they think and talk about when I’m not there.

I caught up on who is screwing who in 10 minutes and the rest seemed like we were comparing kids to see who’s was smarter or more athletic.  Awesome.

