Tags

, , , , , , ,

So yesterday’s embarrassment lasted long enough and I caught enough flack from enough people that I’m really trying hard to choose my words carefully.  Lesson learned!!  My husband played with it just long enough to make sure I knew that he knew his messaged was received without having to actually spell it out.  Got it buddy…. thanks for the support!

It got me thinking though.  Staying at home with kids is wonderful.  I get to spend these “little” years with them and teach them things and attempt to craft them into nice, polite, young children.  This is wonderful and most benefits them.  But the toll it takes on me is another thing and I haven’t really thought about it until recently.  I’m dealing with a lot of, what I’ll call issues, that come from being at home.  

1 – I have little adult contact.  I have friends that I talk to but it’s mostly online or a few minutes here or there dropping kids off/picking kids up.  Nothing substantial.  And the conversations that I do have revolve around kids.  So you can guess that the vocabulary being used it’s pretty elementary.  

2 – I have no professional contact.  When you are working, you are challenged to think critically, quickly and objectively about topics that have nothing to do with pee, poop, lunch, nap or settling arguments about who took someone else’s toy.  I relate to no one else with the exception of those topics listed above.  I have nothing to contribute to any conversation unless it has to deal with that or pregnancy.  And in the event that I do, I’m afraid to talk about it because of my limited knowledge on the topic.  

So….  how to stay connected or educated when you are at home?  That’s my challenge and if I had that, I think my mind might be a little healthier.  I don’t think it would wander to unknown depths or conjurer up destructive scenarios.

Perhaps if I did this, I might think a little more quickly on my feet during my next impromptu interview and save everyone the embarrassment!

